polardual.blogg.se

Norton antivirus for mac snow leopard
Norton antivirus for mac snow leopard










  1. Norton antivirus for mac snow leopard pdf#
  2. Norton antivirus for mac snow leopard update#

My next step is to rebuild the font cache. I have ruled out imputmanager conflicts and fixed permissions using Onyx and Disk Utility.

Norton antivirus for mac snow leopard update#

(I don't have the adobe plug-in, and prior to the update experienced zero problems with PDFs). But because only some Safari-embedded PDFs cause the problem, I'm wondering if it's related to font handing, which is one of the supposed 15 issues that the update is meant to address.

Norton antivirus for mac snow leopard pdf#

It seems that clicking on a PDF in Safari that hasn't already loaded is what causes the hang. If I click on a PDF link on the same site, though, it will likely hang.

norton antivirus for mac snow leopard

And more, if I view it in the tab, and then go back to the other tab and click directly on the same link to view it, it will then load. And if I command+click the link to open the PDF in a tab, and then wait for it to load in the background, I can then view it in Safari. The problem arises very frequently and is easily reproducible. This is signaled by a grey screen and a spinning beachball. On the Mac mini G4 network/file server, I went to Mac OS's network configuration assistant from the network control panel and re-entered the DSL login information, after which the system resumed normal operation without further incident.Īnyone else experiencing repeated Safari crashes when loading PDFs? After the security update 2008-006 was installed on my G5 running OS X 10.4.11 with Safari 3.1.2, some embedded PDFs (viewed by clicking the link in Safari) cause the app to hang - the result of a kernel panic that requires a force quit. All systems are running MacOS 10.4.11 (networks are better on Tiger) and always have been kept up to date. I verified the DSL modem with a Linux notebook, verified the DSL modem, router, and ISP-all worked flawlessly under Linux. After reboot, the ethernet port (en0) shut itself off several times while attempting to connect to the system's DSL modem and was confusing the ISP when the ethernet port (en0) was active.

norton antivirus for mac snow leopard

(I always put on my Mac Exorcist hat when I update this stuff anymore.) The stand-alone iBook updates were uneventfully routine, but a G4 Mac mini I use for network and storage services stalled, rebooted a couple times, and commanded the UPS to shut down the system after a very long screen-off delay. I just spent about half an hour enjoying Apple Security Update 2009-001 on several of my Macs. The least that you can keep of my words is that you can refrain from updating your system immediately when an update comes out - except if it fixes issues that you’ve encountered on important things, of course - wait to read if people are happy with this update, wait for fixes if the update breaks something (anyone remembers the infamous 10.3.x update bug that erased firewire HDs if they were connected during the update? I personally destroyed all the data of a friend film-maker doing that damned update!!!) Those are just conjectures, and most people might disagree, but I’m a twenty-year-old mac user (since system 7), so I’m talking based on my experience.

norton antivirus for mac snow leopard

just like you, I've done all the security updates until the previous one, but I've always wondered if they were really useful: one thing is pretty sure, if I had to reinstall my old systems, I would stick to the lowest well-running version and avoid as much updates as possible, as I've always noticed a drop in performance after applying all the updates of any kind in the life of a system (it looks as Apple would intentionally fatten the system till the average user thinks "ok, Tiger is too slow, Leopard will be better, let’s buy it!" and so on, but of course Apple wouldn't think that way, ain't they? -) my Mini G4 running Tiger is no longer security-updated by Apple since years, neither my G5 running Leopard, do you think I've been attacked in anyway? -D when you take a look at what is fixed, the risks are probably very low for the average home user, while they're higher for big corporate's servers, of course potential security leaks are likely to be exploited until they're not known, so It's very probable that after a few months most of them have not to be feared anymore. I'd like to do a bit of philosophy, here:












Norton antivirus for mac snow leopard